of the Collection
“Welsh Guards Collection” is a unique collection
of artifacts and archives depicting and honouring the history
of life in the Welsh Guards since the formation in February
the request of the people of Wales and supported by King
George the V, he ordered the Secretary of State for War
Lord Kitchener to raise “ a welsh regiment of foot
guards” on the 26th February 1915.
then Major General household division London District Lieutenant
General Sir Francis Lloyd, accepted this challenge and promised
to achieve this task so confidently that he said the fifth
regiment of foot guards “ The Welsh Guards”
would muster on the 27th” and would mount “Kings
Guard” Buckingham Palace on their national day of
St. David two days later.
from the other Guards Regiment were encouraged to transfer,
in particular the Grenadiers who had always recruited from
Wales, transferred 300 trained NCO’s and Guardsmen
in one fell swoop. The first commanding officer Lt. Col.
Murray-Thriepland from the Grenadier and the first R.S.M.
Stevenson from the Scots. As promised the Welsh Guards mounted
Kings Guard Buckingham Palace on March 1st 1915 still wearing
the uniforms of their old regiment.
commenced at the White City London and a 2nd Training Battalion
was housed in the Tower of London. On August 17th 1915 the
Battalion, now fully equipped and battle trained wearing
their new uniforms and cap badge of the emblem of Wales
the leek, marched from the White City to Waterloo Station
to embark for France where three months later they were
to write their names into the annals of history and win
the first of their 21 Battle Honours at Loose.
Welsh Guards Collection founded 80 years later in 1995 offers
education enlightenment, information and hands on activities
for all ages to enjoy. With a complete Barrack Room from
the 50’s and 60’s an actual Sentry Box from
Buckingham Palace and a rebuilt cell from the Guards Depot
at Caterham dating back to 1877, visitors are encouraged
to wear authentic public duties home service clothing (Bearskin
and Tunic and visit exhibitions from the great wars and
more recent Iraq.
one of the 2000 plus artifacts are authentic and come with
individual stories imparted personally by a very capable
and enthusiastic team of volunteers all ex serving Welsh
Guardsman at your service. We are also proud of offer over
1000 recruit squad photos chronologically catalogued for
families and visitors to view at their leisure. This is
probably the largest collection of squad photographs of
any one regiment anywhere. We offer a photo copying service
for those who may have lost all trace of these ancestors.
in Park Hall Countryside Experience near the Market border
town of Oswestry, it is within central reach of all the
15 branches of the Welsh Guards Association throughout Wales
and England with excellent road and rail services.
The Park Hall Camp was used during the great Wars mainly
by the Royal Artillery but during the 60’s and 70’s
the Guards Infantry Junior Leaders were stationed here.
Lt. Gen. Sir Francis Lloyd charged with the task of forming
the Welsh Guards was from Aston Hall, Oswestry and the Regiment‘s
first Colonel, Lord Harlech lived in Brogynton Hall, Oswestry.
Welsh Guards Collection is a unit within the “Park
Hall Countryside Experience” a family leisure facility
depicting farm and family life down the years with its own
indoor arena, animals large and small, outdoor adventure
activities, walks, lakes, children’s play areas etc.
It has everything for the complete family day outing with
special events galas, rallies and shows complimented by
a restaurant catering for birthdays and special events.
the Welsh Guards Collection we have a large stock of regimental
memorabilia and souvenirs at competitive prices and for
club, associations and groups who are unable to attend during
normal hours, private groups or individual tours can always
be arranged to suit at no added cost. Just call on 01606
593953 or e-mail.
why not call in and see us sometime, where we guarantee
the friendliest of welcomes and comradeship.